Thats What She Said

I'm supposed to be doing something else right now.

You can’t go home again, but you can go back and stay in a hotel and drink a lot of beer. January 12, 2007

Filed under: *Booze,*Cheese; Or, Stuff That's Good — thats what she said @ 4:51 pm

I’m going back to Eugene this weekend for the first time in something like two years.  I’m pretty excited.  In addition to seeing some old college friends, I’ll be going to a Tom Waits tribute show, which my good friend’s band will be playing a set in.   Should be a pretty damn good time. 

Here’s hoping I will actually enjoy myself, as the 2007 Reign of Terror that started January 1st hasn’t really eased yet, and I could really use some relaxation.  And seeing the ex-boyfriend is always relaxing, right?  Hi Jake!  I’m really excited to see this group of people again.  I feel, I don’t know…I feel like we are all actually grown-ups now, even though in actual years we aren’t that much older.  But houses have been purchased, and relationships have mellowed, and I don’t know–growing up must have occured, right? 

Regardless, tomorrow night will find me firmly enmeshed in my past, and I’m so happy to report that I feel nothing but anticipation. 

I do not feel anticipation about coming back to my normal life next week, when I will finally force myself to figure out how I’m going to afford the following Atrocious List of Items To Be Purchased Some Time In The Next Four Months Or So:

1. $500 French course.  Is there a cheaper way?  The local community college will cost about $400 when all is said and done, and I’m pretty sure its not even a real class–more like a language lab thing were I go and TEACH MYSELF FRENCH FOR, HOW DO YOU SAY…LE FOUR HUNDRED DOLLARS.

2. Buy two, not one but TWO, new pairs of glasses, as the Peace Corps requires it and my current pair is being held together by the magical powers of super glue and my faith alone after being BROKEN IN HALF BY MY EFFING CAT WHEN HE WAS IRRITATED AT ME FOR BEING IRRITATED AT HIM FOR NOT WANTING HIM TO DESTROY MY BLINDS.

3.  Lab tests of undetermined cost.  The only estimate that I was given was a breezily stated ‘Oh, I don’t know, but probably HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS’.  Thanks.  I’m pretty sure I might have left HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS between my couch cushions or something.  I’ll just go check…

4.  Dental bills.  I’m going to go to the dentist later this month and PAY HIM SOMETHING CLOSE TO A THOUSAND DOLLARS TO CAUSE ME PAIN.  But on the plus side, maybe he’ll prescribe me something good.  Clearly drugs are going to be required in the on coming months.  I’m not sure wine is going to cut it.  

I can’t even begin to think about the things I’m going to have to buy for the actual living in Africa part of the deal.  Backpacks and weird clothing items and new underwear and mosquito nets and I’d really like to take an ipod and a digital camera although it seems fucking obscene and not to mention insensitive to buy these things SPECIFICALLY TO TAKE TO A COUNTRY WHERE THE AVERAGE PERSONS YEARLY INCOME IS PROBABLY SOMETHING LIKE $200.   But also, umm…I want to take pictures and listen to music in Africa.  I can’t really imagine the experience if I can’t do those things.  So yeah. 

I’m going to stop the  whine-fest now.  I’m sure I’ll find the necessary couple hundred bucks somewhere…right?  I’m sure that happens.  And anyway–who am I to complain?  I just went to the doctor for the first time in YEARS and I’m pretty sure I’m totally healthy.  (Aside from the gnarly head cold, but gnarly head colds totally don’t count.  Big picture, people, big picture.)  So yea for that. 

This was supposed to be a happy post about my upcoming weekend.  It’s so exciting to be able to just dip your toes in your past…as long as there’s no skinny dipping.  That’s how a girl gets herself into trouble.  

 

2 Responses to “You can’t go home again, but you can go back and stay in a hotel and drink a lot of beer.”

  1. ya sista Says:

    2 new pairs of glasses: $150.00
    digital camera: $250.00
    doctor bills: $1000.00

    the opportunity of a life time: priceless

  2. Really nice site you have here. I’ve been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work


Leave a Reply

