Thats What She Said

I'm supposed to be doing something else right now.

If you are turned off by the incessant whining of a person who is overall mightily priviledged in life, this is not the post for you. April 25, 2007

Filed under: *brain cloud — thats what she said @ 10:49 am

Guess what today is.  Today is National Administrative Professional’s Day.  Yes. 

When I got to work this morning I was presented with a card and two tickets to see the Decemberists next week.  Which is awesome.  I love the Decemberists, and of course it’s lovely to be acknowledged and appreciated as ‘an integral part of the team’.  And yet. 

Somehow it sort of made me feel like shit.  I’m sorry.  I don’t mean to be ungrateful, and if I had been presented with these tokens of appreciation on any other day I would have felt nothing but good.  It means a lot to me that they went out of their way to say thanks, and that they know me well enough to have chosen a gift I will really enjoy. 

But that moment.  When they said “Happy Admin. Day!”  It just feels so patronizing.  I realize that I am abnormally sensitive to this verbiage.  I realize I am being a baby.  But.  

I don’t want to be referred to as an administrative assistant.  Does that really have to define my position within this company?  Can’t I just be Kim, the girl who takes care of other peoples details for a minimal amount of money?

I will be exiting the Pity Train shortly.  I really, really will.  I know that I am lucky in countless ways.  But before I de-board, I just—I went to college, and I have all these grand notions, and I know that I am capable of more than what I’m doing right now.  I also know that you only get as far in life as you’re willing to…take yourself.  Or something.  That is a poorly constucted sentence, but this is my rant and so I’m going to leave it.  I know my current status is solely the result of my own hard work, or the lack there-of.  And I guess that is the crux. 

I’m 26 years old.  And this is my life.  Today I was honored for being really good at paperwork.  And then I had the audacity to complain about it. 

I tell you what—26 sure looks a lot different when you’re 14.      

 

4 Responses to “If you are turned off by the incessant whining of a person who is overall mightily priviledged in life, this is not the post for you.”

  1. T-Bone Says:

    omg kim, i can’t believe i missed our holiday! or almost missed, i guess it’s still officially the day that i honestly can’t even type out right now. i actually saw a card at bartell’s for this day, over a month ago! and thought i needed to remember to send one to you. i was really going to! but of course, i forgot. man. you’re right, it is worse that they acknowledged it, so i’m sorry. but hey, at least you got decemberists tix. that’s pretty sweet…

  2. Waiting for National Fat White Bearded Guy Day Says:

    and wait until you get to consider the view of 26 from 49…

  3. They make cards for this feeling? Oh my.
    But tickets! Are good!
    Happy National Day To Be Reminded About That Crazy Scheme Involving Grad School!

  4. Kit Kat Says:

    There’s no day set aside for library grunts, but if there were the city would most definitely NOT be getting me Decemberist tickets. The most I would see would be a $3.00 gift card for Starbucks. And I don’t drink coffee!


Leave a Reply

