Thats What She Said

I'm supposed to be doing something else right now.

Either I’m in denial, or I’m handling this incredibly well. September 18, 2007

Filed under: *Booze,*brain cloud,*Cheese; Or, Stuff That's Good,*i joined the what now? — thats what she said @ 12:25 pm

rsz_img_1049.jpg

Tomorrow is the big day. Although truth be told, yesterday, and the day before that, and the two days before that all felt pretty big too. And I can’t imagine the trend changing anytime soon.

Today though, is about relaxing and preparing, both of which I’m being aided in by The Lovely Miss Q. People, if you ever decide to leave the country for two years to go live in a place where you don’t know anyone or speak the language or really even know that much about the culture, I recommend that you come stay with TLMQ and Beezzz before you go. Or my mom. Or my dad. Or my brother and sister. Or T-Bone or Grandmaster Flash or have a party at Mike’s and hang out with Kit Kat and Dr. Jones and Cy and Josie. Also give Winston Churchill a giant giant hug and never mind the wiggling. That just means he likes it.

Because the crazy thing is (besides the fact that next week at this time I will be in West Africa), I do feel pretty relaxed and prepared. Maybe it will feel different tonight, when I’m lying in bed and I’m forced to think about tomorrow and next week and next month and all of the wide gulf of the unknown ahead of me, but right now, at this moment I feel ready for this adventure. And I’m so incredibly grateful for that, because I know it is only partially due to me. Mostly it is due to the incredible support I have in my life. I know I already wrote about this, but maybe you can forgive me for getting a little nostalgic in these last hours of familiarity.

But I meant to write about other things today. I meant to write about Manhattan and Brooklyn and our fabulous dinner plans tonight and the massage TLMQ just got for me. But…how do people do that? How do they know exactly what to provide for you in your moment of chaos? And then how do they deliver it to you, so seamlessly, so seemingly effortlessly and with so little fanfare that before you even know you are lying wrapped in their warmth and suddenly you just know that you must be ready for whatever it is that is in front of you, because with someone like that behind you, you can’t possibly fail.

It seems that at this moment I’m incapable of feeling anything other than gratitude.  And you know what?  I feel pretty grateful for that.

So I’ll leave you with the immortal words of Whitesnake, only partially altered to suit my purposes:

Here I go again on my own, going down one of many roads I’ve never known…

 

3 Responses to “Either I’m in denial, or I’m handling this incredibly well.”

  1. Dr. Jones Says:

    bon voyage kim. do you feel epic? if you don’t, it’s ok. i feel epic for you.

  2. I think I feel a little epic. Is that possible?

  3. Dr. Jones Says:

    anything is possible, especially epicness, especially in this situation. (pardon me, i’m a little drunk.) but i stand firm in my epic beliefs.


Leave a Reply

