Thats What She Said

I'm supposed to be doing something else right now.

Are you ready for some football? And marines? Because apparently I am. February 3, 2008

Filed under: *Daily — thats what she said @ 9:22 am

So I had the good luck to be doing my banking the weekend of Super Bowl Sunday, and to continue the theme of doing things that are completely out of context with my normal life here (see previous post) tonight I will be shuttled to the US Embassy, to watch some good old fashioned football. The kind people play with their feet. At midnight. And who will we be watching the game with, you ask? Why with the marines of course. We’re bringing a bean dip.

What?

Speaking of Americans, and you know, flags and stuff (marines…flags—surely you can take the mental leap with me) I have a favor to ask.  Yannick was looking through one of my old copies of News Weekand saw a picture of someone wearing a T-shirt with the American flag on it. You should have seen his face light up.  He asked me if you can ‘get these in America’ and I said, yeah, of course.  “Oh”, he said, “this is very good.” People, this man is unfailingly patient with me in ways I cannot begin to describe to you. If anyone deserves an American flag T-shirt, it is Yannick Belinga.  Could someone send one over? Pretty pretty please? He’s a small to medium build guy—I imagine a adult size medium would work, although I’m positive he would where anything that made its way over here. So—please? Thanks.

I did receive a package at my Ngoulemakong address (thanks Dad!) and letters are arriving much more regularly, so apparently it was true that Christmas really slows things up.

In closing, GO BARACK! 

 

9 Responses to “Are you ready for some football? And marines? Because apparently I am.”

  1. lindsey madson Says:

    hey lady! Have fun with those Marines tonight. There is about 2-3 feet of snow in my front yard. Damn. And my mom talked to your aunt…it turns out that they are both elementary school secretaries in Bend….weird. Hope you’re keeping it real in Ngoulemakong. Give my love to the South.

    Peace

    Lindsey

  2. Man that is weird. Hi LIndey’s mom! And Aunt Kelley!

    Snow huh. I’m hot.

  3. T-Bone Says:

    I’ll see what I can do about getting ahold of an american flag t-shirt !

    Also, at least fifty seven people tried to reply to the text you sent me last night. Did you get any of them??? I’m switching carriers to whoever got through.

  4. Dammit! I didn’t get any of them! Lame.

  5. Dr. Jones Says:

    did you get my letter kim? i sent it back in december. it’s super tuesday today. cy is going crazy with anticipation! he raised about a thousand dollars for barack. keep your chin up! i always wanted to say that to someone :)

  6. I did get your letter! Finally! And I just sent one to you! And thanks for the good advice.

  7. DEVIE Says:

    WE DON’T KNOW EACH OTHER,BUT i RAN ACROSS YOU THROUGH A GOOGLE SEARCH FOR PEACE STUFF. i THINK i HAVE ONE OF THOSE FLAG T-SHIRTS HANGING IN MY CLOSET.. HAVEN’T BEEN INSPIRED TO WEAR IT IN QUITE SOME TIME, WOULD LOVE TO PASS IT ALONG.
    ON BEHALF OF THE PLANET, THANKS FOR BEING IN THE PEACE CORPS, AND DOING WHAT YOU DO…SURE WISH i’D HAVE KNOWN MORE ABOUT IT BEFORE i GOT ALL THESE BILLS!!!

  8. Kit Kat Says:

    Kim, we were all thinking of you and your marines while watching the Superbowl at Mike’s last week. That’s lame about the text messages.

    How was the bean dip?

  9. TLMQ Says:

    I can send Kim text messages with Cingular. I don’t have any fancy plan and it works somehow. I was surprised myself.


Leave a Reply

