Thats What She Said

I'm supposed to be doing something else right now.

6 Months Down, 21 To Go March 25, 2008

Filed under: *Daily — thats what she said @ 9:33 am

I’m heading back to post tomorrow after a spending a week with 20 other Americans. These people are all near and dear to me, but I think I’ve grown used to a different pace of life. Somewhat surprisingly, I find myself looking forward to sitting on my porch. 

Our in-service training was simultaneously overwhelming and reassuring. Everyone claims to have ‘done nothing’ for the last three months, and everyone secretly thinks that they have done the most nothing. For instance, I know for a fact that I actually have done the most nothing, but after various discussions with other people posted in the south and in the east, and the ‘time-line of development’ in other areas of the country, I feel a little better about that. I got to post in December ready to search out community groups to work with. What it took me three months to realize is that it will be my role just to introduce the idea of community groups in my area.

I don’t mean to imply that there are no Cameroonians in the South doing good work on their own—obviously there are many. It’s just on a totally different scale than in provinces like the Northwest and West. Peace Corps has been in the northwestern corner of this country for 40 years, so the current volunteers there are having  a very different experience than those of us in other areas. Where they have people approaching them and asking them to collaborate, I’m having a really tough time just explaining what in the hell I’m doing here.  If you’re not a doctor, then who ARE you? (This is not to say that volunteers in the northwest are in some sort of cakewalk—they are just at a different place on the ‘timeline of development’. (I refuse to say ‘timeline of development’ without quotes. It’s just too pretentious. Unfortunately, I don’t know how else to say it.))

So anyway, I’m going to head back and start the process of creating some clubs. What’s that you say? Didn’t I already dothat? Yes, my astute little readers, I did. But turns out I sort of did it wrong. Or at least in a way that wasn’t really working for me. Standing in front of 102 bored high schooler’s who have no idea why we’re all in a room together was sort of…not enjoyable. So new clubs, check.  

I’m also (hopefully) going to be working on a soy project with the agroforestery volunteer that lives to the south of me. She’ll talk about growing it, and I’ll present poorly drawn representations of eggs and cows to show how much higher the protein content is in a kilo of soy than various other, more expensive options. Good times will be had by all.

I really am feeling excited to get back though. If nothing else because I finally found a good tailor and I just printed off a bunch of cute pictures of dresses from the Anthropologie website that she will make me for $6.

 

4 Responses to “6 Months Down, 21 To Go”

  1. TLMQ Says:

    There better be a g.d. package waiting for you when you return…
    There is an Anthroplogie catalog in it so you can give the tailor more options. Miss you lady. Love looking at pictures!

  2. Dr. Jones Says:

    oh kim! it took me a YEAR to realize that i went about my massage business all wrong! so new business, check! please send pictures of the anthropologie cover dresses! if i send you my size and $6, will she make some for me too?

    it’s cover dresses like cover bands. it was supposed to be clever, but after writing it i thought maybe i just sound dumb.

  3. I’m crossing my fingers for that package TLMQ, but realistically it will probably be another two weeks. Two months seems to be the standard delivery time. But maybe! You know how optimistic I am…

    And Dr Jones. You are hilarious. I’ll see what I can do about getting you a cover dress. My tailor always seems to measure random parts of me (not in a creepy way–I realize that sounded kind of creepy) so I’m not sure I would know what to tell you to send. We’re also still in the process of…how shall I say…refining our communication. But in a year, we are going to make quite a team. My role on the team will be to look fabulous.

  4. TLMQ Says:

    Hey Kim! This is Katie! I am in New Haven visiting and we went to Yale and saw all the Gilmore Girls stuff. I kept dorking out, and was really thankful that you had already dragged Melanie and Breandan around the sites. I’m reading your blog, your experiences sound amazing. I have a book that you need to read. Melanie and I will get it to you. Having lived in Eugene, you will totally understand it.


Leave a Reply

