Thats What She Said

I'm supposed to be doing something else right now.

I’m Movin’ On Up! November 4, 2008

Filed under: *Daily — thats what she said @ 9:13 am

So, those of you following along with my lame little existence here en afrique may have noticed a trend in my writing (that is, when I can be bothered to write). The work–its um, difficult to find/do/maintain/makes me want to punch myself in the face. And so I decided to be pro-active (this is the word I’ve chosen to alleviate the guilt I feel for abandoning my fellow Southies) and asked to be switched to a different post. I assumed the process would be horrendous, and went into talk to my boss armed with approximately 86,762 reasons why I needed to get the &#%@ out of my village, but instead she was amazingly receptive and within 3 minutes of me mentioning my desire to move asked me that most golden of golden questions: “How would you feel about moving to an anglophone province?” How would I feel about being able TO SPEAK ENGLISH TO PEOPLE ALL THE TIME EVERYDAY WHEN EVER I WANT TO USE WORDS? Um, yes please, that sounds delightful. (And people, its not just English–its Pidgin English, which means I get use such delightful phrases as “belly done flop” when I’ve eaten my fill, “I done spoiled her” after I’ve impregnated a women, and “catch booby” every time I refer to my bra, which I do constantly.)

If all goes according to plan I will be moving to a place called Fundong (yes, possible the only name that could equal Ngoulemakong in gloriousness) in the beautiful North West province. Its not 100% for sure yet, and I’m probably jinxing myself by even writing this, but I’m so unbelieveably excited that I have to share it. The move is scheduled for January. Happy New Year me!!

In other news, Jess and I took a trip up to the Extreme North Province. Highlights include–but are not limited to–the following:

  • Buying the equivalent of an entire cow’s worth of leather goods
  • Buying a snakeskin purse (Classy!)
  • Buying shoes
  • Buying 743 meters of loud African cloth
  • Buying a bowl
  • Buying a tiny brass hippo
  • Buying traditional gourds to be worn on my head to indicate my marriage status
  • Buying a bell (Fellow PCV Dave would like you to know that he loves bells!!)
  • Having my fortune told by an old man who talks to a crab
  • Walking to Nigeria
  • Getting EXTREMELY upset at a fish vendor who refuse to give me the 100 CFA (approx 22 cents) she TOTALLY FUCKING OWED ME
  • Eating salad!!
  • Attending a Halloween party dressed as 1 of 3 California Raisins

It was a great time. There was a train involved! With beds! Which is a good thing because once you get on that train you don’t get off it for 17 hours. Then you get on a ‘bus’ for another 8 hours. Travel here is so relaxing!

I’m here in Yaounde now for meetings, (and the elections!!!!) and am heading back to post on Thursday for a couple weeks. At the end of November I’m going to take part in a Cultural Festival (again in the magical NW) where I will be singing with the band. Ha! I’ve been told DVDs will be made available. Don’t worry, I’ll still talk to you when I’m famous.

Barack the Vote!!!

 

8 Responses to “I’m Movin’ On Up!”

  1. TLMQ Says:

    wowsa! I didn’t realize that your frustrations were so deep. English! You mean Bren and I don’t *need* to learn french!? I hope it turns out to be a more fruitful post! Where will you live? How will you move? Will they have a party for you in Ngoulemakong?

  2. Kit Kat Says:

    Oh we Barack’d that motherfucking vote, and we Barack’d it hard.

    Kim, I’m sorry that things haven’t been working out the way you planned at your post, but it’s pretty awesome that the Peace Corps is willing to transfer you. I’m excited to hear more pidgin phrases! Good luck with the (planned) move!!

  3. dr. jones Says:

    first, i’d like to say i’m glad you took a vacation and i’m glad you thought about things and i’m glad you have figured those said things out.

    and B, i check your blog everyday to see if you have graced us with yet another witty, outlandish, hilarious, wonderful, beautiful post. T-bone has said, and i quote, “you are her biggest fan!” “you” would be me and “her” would be you. so imagine my surprise when i come across your post and get rediculously excited only to find that you need a password! what what what???!!! what could it be? i thought maybe obama. no dice. so i go to the one person that surely must know how to get to the bottom of this, the lovely miss T-bone herself. she says, “didn’t you get the e-mail?” “what e-mail?” i reply. “oh my god, she had to send you the e-mail, you’re her biggest fan!” on and on like this it goes until T-bone produces an e-mail. THE e-mail. needless to say i am now in possession of the password and hence giving this lengthy account. i will cut to the chase. the e-mail address you have for me is no longer current. i gave up on doogin years ago (sorry mike). thank god you haven’t black listed me! so if you or anyone else that reads this would like to e-mail me in the future i can be reached at jonesypie@gmail.com.

    i miss you kim :)

  4. T-Bone Says:

    everything dr. j accounted is all true! she is your biggest fan, kim! and i might be her biggest fan. :) it was so good to talk to you today, and i can not believe i will see your face in officially 3 weeks and 6 days from today!!!

  5. Grandmaster Flash Says:

    I know I’ve been traveling a long time because of the fact that seeing you in 2 months and 2 weeks seems soon.

  6. haricots verts (formerly dr. jones Says:

    from now on i am haricots verts!

  7. haricots verts (formerly dr. jones) Says:

    doh! i forgot the close parenthesis after jones.

  8. T-Bone Says:

    hahahahaha. dr. j you crack me up like no other! i love that the whole haricots verts moment was so profound for you. i love my friends!


Leave a Reply

